Board Members

Board Officers:

Justin Waayenberg
Justin Waayenberg – President
I spent 6 years in the Army as a Cavalry Scout and was deployed to Iraq in 2008. After getting out of the Army, I moved to Montana and started working at Adipose Boat works in 2010. I became involved with Mending Waters Montana through Adipose Boat works that same year. After going on a few trips and doing the fly tying class, I wanted to start giving back. In 2015, I started volunteering and became a board member that same year.
Garrett Fawaz
Garrett Fawaz – Vice President
After a successful 25 year active duty career in the US Army, Garrett’s passion for fly-fishing and supporting Veterans made for a perfect fit with Mending Waters Montana when he helped establish it in 2008.
Bill Long
Bill Long – Treasurer
Bill grew up fishing. His dad, in addition to being a WW II vet, grew up fishing and passed it on. He’s honored to pass on his love of fly fishing through MWM.
Kathie Franks – Secretary
Kathie Frank is currently a full-time member of the Montana Air National Guard and has proudly served for almost 32 years. Her most recent deployment sent her to Afghanistan where she supported multiple missions. She was introduced to Mending Waters Montana when invited to a woman’s fly-fishing event on the Missouri. She immediately found the MWM’s mission was something she could stand behind and has been involved ever since, assisting with meal preparation for other veterans as well as becoming the MWM board secretary.


Jim Martinez
Jim Martinez
Board Member and Founding Member
Henry Begler crop
Henry Begler
Board Member (on the left).